Punchline.

When I first started watching Punchline I had no idea what to expect. I just began watching anime this spring and decided to give this one a shot since it was a brand new original anime series. It was entirely new so I wouldn’t have to worry about looking deeper for any background information. After the first episode I thought I had made a horrible mistake. I had no idea what was happening. Panties?! Spirits?! I had no idea what was going on, but since I had chosen it and felt a little attachment to it (I get attached that fast, literally.) I decided to tough it out and keep watching it. Best decision I made that day. Even better than choosing to snag Tomb Raider Definite Edition on sale. What unraveled in the world of Punchline was something I could have never seen coming. Maybe.

What followed was a story I grew to enjoy. Friendships torn apart, romance, action, thrills, and we can’t forget panties. Details I thought were completely random and out of place made some sort of sense at the end. The story placed an emphasis on protecting your friends and the home which you hold dear wherever it may be. These five friends struggled with some differences and silly problems, but in the end banded together to protect each other and their dear home, Korai House. The ending may not be the supremely happy and peaceful ending we all expected but its one that leaves you feeling satisfied with the emotional investment you put into the residents of Korai House. One thing is for certain, this is a storyline I plan on revisiting in the future because the team of Juice Punch will not be easily forgotten.

If you’re looking for a short and sweet story that has action, drama, romance, panties, and some of the most absurd comedy you’ve seen this season, then give Punchline a shot. I promise you won’t regret it.

 

VERDICT: Watch

32364c0341343859046ed51f004216b41428009679_full

Leave a Reply

